Chia Ti Lik’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Byul [Star] – A song that touches the heart :)

It is no secret that Kim TaeYeon adorns my desktop, the SNSD Daum Screensaver appears every now and then when my mind goes empty. I have so many SNSD songs in my phone that no other application takes up more space than the music program. One of the songs so often played is the MP3 of Taeyeon’s rendition of Byul.

Byul was originally sung by Korean actress Kim Ah Joong in the movie “200-pound Beauty”. A performance good enough for me to remember that it was a very nice song. Not knowing a single word of Korean in its lyrics did not stop me from feeling the energy and emotion of the performance.

Having gotten to like SNSD, SNSD’s videos are all over youtube by the way, it was a pleasant surprise that my favourite TaeYeon had also sung a version of Byul live on Korean Radio. I have always admired TY’s rendition of Byul [Star] without really understanding a word of it.

Surfing around in youtube, I chanced upon an english subtitled version of Byul three nights ago. I could not help myself but reduce the lyrics into writing. The music is touching, the lyrics are touching, and TY’s performance makes me breathless. 🙂 it brought a tear to my eye. 🙂

I don’t know if this will work but this is the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBDNaEdVobQ&playnext=1&list=PL502A1883DA48D5CC

Here is how the lyrics go:

Lyrics – Byul (Star)

The wind is shaking the windows

And over my small room

The stars fill up the sky

Shining brightly too many to count

The stars reassure the tired me

They wipe away the many tears

That are deep inside me

“Don’t be hurt too much!” they hug me tight, pamper me and comfort me

Telling me to go to sleep

Though I’m exhausted to the point where I can’t walk

Though my tears blur my vision

I’ll still smile in front of my love that I’m not able to get

Even though our happy times were short

I’ll treasure it deep inside my heart

Like those countless number of stars

Forever

My dream is coming

Though it is unusual that my one star is bright

It is very bright

Even blinding

It comes down to my shoulder

“Stop being so sad” it holds my hand, as it touches me, and gives me a warm hug

Though I’m exhausted to the point where I can’t walk

Though my tears blur my vision

I’ll still smile in front of my love that I’m not able to get

Even though our happy times were short

I’ll treasure it deep inside my heart

Like those countless number of stars

Only for today

I won’t cry though my eyes fill with tears

I want to laugh like those stars

I want to cherish all my happy moments

Deep inside my heart

Like those countless number of stars

Forever

I used to like the tune of this song alot and I loved TaeYeon’s performance. Now that I know the meaning behind the lyrics. It makes me enjoy TaeYeon’s rendition even more. 🙂

April 14, 2011 - Posted by | So Nyuh Shi Dae - Girls' Generation

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

