Chia Ti Lik’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Seventeen years on … The Same Road, The Same Reason

Seventeen years ago, i was placed at a crossroads. I was forced to decide for myself what i wanted myself to be. I took the hard choice, emerged stronger and more confident [well not really that confident yet cos i was a really timid kid in the past] as a result. Pulling yourself up from a life situation on your own through your own strength and through a good hard objective look at the facts does something to the ego within. It was not a bad thing, in fact it was good phase of transformation.

Seventeen years ago, I dived headlong into my taekwondo training. During that time i was in national service, to me life was then just camp, training and sleep. When i started school in NUS, life was school, training and the much needed bed and nothing else. It did wonders for my health, psychological well being, mental strength. I never looked during the golden years.

Then i made a very stupid decision when I qualified as a lawyer. Faced with pressures at work. I made one of my worst decisions in life, to cease the hard training i had to free up time for other pursuits.

Things went downhill eversince I guess. I used to be able to be very much self-assured, being totally unaffected by things and comments which occurred around myself. Since then i was caught in the swirl of life. My steps towards advancement and achievement brought me further and further away from self assurance to relying on the approval of loved ones.

Such a development makes one reliant on the opinion of others instead of being sure of what they are and what they want to be.

It is when people get cluttered with too many motives, too many distractions and too many concerns do they lose sight of themselves. I did.

Clearing out my wardrobe yesterday afternoon, I found my long unused Taekwondo uniforms 🙂 its about time i went back to training. I did. And now i am aching all over. 🙂 🙂

November 30, 2009 - Posted by | Life

7 Comments »

  1. Hello Ti Lik , was just wondering as i read your recent posts, if you came face to face with the same you 17 years ago, what advice would you give him, having the life experiences you have today?

    I suppose the reason I’m asking is that i (and i’m sure others) are today in that same position as you were…. at cross roads, deciding how they want to use their lives to make a difference.

    You’ve walked all the roads, you’ve been there, done that,and still hold fast to the values. your advice would mean so much more than what anyone else can give.

    Comment by mathialee | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Dear Mathia,
      Firstly thank you for that birthday greeting from the window across. 🙂
      Well, you almost stumped me with your question but if i were to meet me 17 years back, this is what i will say to myself:
      “Believe in yourself and God for things happen the way they do for a good reason. Do not for once doubt that you are not deserving of a good life or for the love that you desire. The current circumstances will pass in a matter of time and before you know it you will be stronger and wiser than you have ever imagined. Take care though of complaining that things cannot be worse or that the days in the past are better, it is better to welcome life as it unfolds to you than to learn that if one does not accept his lot – the current circumstances, the universe might just conspire together to deliver a weightier lesson. For I believe i have learned that the hard way.”

      Comment by chiatilik | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Ti Lik, that’s a really lovely and positive way to approach life’s ups and downs!

    I like your philosophy of non-attachment….. when there’s nothing you have/desire that can be taken away from you, no one can hold anything hostage ….. A person like that, is a person who can accomplish much….

    Comment by mathialee | December 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Nope Ti Lik.

    TKD is not good for you are your age.

    Your hip joints and other joints had started to deteriorate due to age and normal wear and tear.

    Go to Nee Soon East COmunity CLub and enrol in CHen-style Taijiquan (or even Pasir Ris ELias CC).

    It will help to preserve you joints for a longer period when you are in your 50s and onwards.

    Comment by laicf2007 | December 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lai

    TKD is tough even when i was young. its even tougher now. Partly its because i have not been consistent with it. Guess the toughness is payback time. TaijiQuan is good but i intend to go into it only a little later in my older years.
    Still relish the TKD experience and what familiarity it brings to the mind. Maybe just let me soldier on a few years more and i will be doing taiji with you. 🙂

    Comment by chiatilik | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ti Lik,
    You wil need the flexibility of TKD to do CHen-style taijiquan as there are splits, round-house kicks and reverse round-house kicks!!!

    Just retain your flexibility as you need it for Taijiquan.

    You can surf “Chen-style Taijiquan” and watch free video over the Internet.

    Comment by laicf2007 | December 21, 2009 | Reply

    • I need to get back some good old exercise to be able to find my balance. Balance is important especially when many want to disrupt my balance. 🙂 I promise to be kind to myself during training, i am afterall already 36 years old. I can never fly like before. And i know that. 🙂 Nevertheless i will still want to have a go at TKD for a few more years before i try TJQ.

      Comment by chiatilik | January 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

