Chia Ti Lik’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kwik Updates Just before Bleakfast :)

I know…. i have been procrastinating. I have not been diligent in updating my blog. I have also procrastinated on many things which ought to be addressed first thing upon return to Singapore.

Back from 3 week plus plus in the States and i found a mountain of work waiting for me to address. Some i managed to resolve and some are still gnawing at me.

I have noted that i have had to eat before Jufrie on 3 separate occasions without the liberty of offering him a meal. He was on his Ramadan fasting. He did slim down abit. Gulping down my food, it made me wonder if i should do the Ramadan fast as well.

I heard from some quarters that concerned readers were worried about what i was going through…. and since the blog was stagnant…. speculations were rife as to what had happened to me.

Well its not the end of the world…. though it is also not a walk in the park.

I had in the short period from which i came back, had to address countless matters. Jump several times at the alarm clock that does not seem to work. be asleep by 8pm and wake up at odd hours…..

I had to tend to the sale of the faulty Suzuki GSXR400… yes it broke down again… this time i gave up. I cut my losses and sold it off for a song. There were 4 buyers and of course only 1 was successful. The other 3 could not believe how fast i closed the deal.

Right off from a sportster, i got myself a kup – a Honda Sonic 125. Abit rough and tiny but nevertheless a fine kup. I probably had it for 2 weeks, sent it for servicing tune up and repair then decided that the kup is not for me so therefore again the bike was sold. Same thing…. several buyers, only one successful. The kup certainly left my hands in much better shape than when i first got hold of it.
Can you imagine…. when it came  it did not even have working mirrors for me to view my rear… on 3 occasions i took it out in the morning intending to ride to office. On all those 3 occasions, i dropped my balls somewhere along the road leading to the expressway, i took the nearest exit and turned for home. I ended up on my trusty steed the Shadow 400 – she did not fail me.

Interestingly, during the short period which i had my kup, i think the shadow girl got jealous… i could swear i smelt something burning near the engine after the usual short rides. Yesterday i sold my kup to a 19 year old girl. She was happy with the purchase. I was happy to let it go. AND INTERESTINGLY, my Shadow was happy too… i rode her this morning … and i rode her HARD…. and hey no burning smell!

My mum says i am wasting money with the bike changing. To me its a part of a learning process “how on earth are you not to know that a kup is not for you, unless you ride a kup?”. For her, she says the riding part need not necessarily entail the need to buy it and then repair and sell it later.

In any event, i think am doing a good deed. Recirculated bikes are good for the planet and the environment. Is it not the in thing to go green these days?

Other than the bikescapades , I have been arranging for social meetings which never seem to get anywhere.

Drafting thank you emails which never get sent. Having half completed blogposts cluttering the dashboard.

I did manage to find a little peace with myself. Right into my 2nd day alone in the Washington Hotel, I finally found the urge to practise a little yoga. It was like almost 3 years before did i even try yoga. When i came back, i let go of my Suzuki, and 2 lesser naim amps went out of the house. I have been packing my room with some progress. I think this time round i will succeed. I should be able to trek close to an ascetic lifestyle free from possessions soon. 🙂 Save for the bikes in the garage.

An esteemed friend (who i shall not name) saw me yesterday and the first thing he asked me was if i would still be doing the things i do. Well he jolted me up from a stupor which has plagued me for a little while. That set me thinking. I guess he did read my blog as well. So therefore i told myself last night that i should no longer remain a disappointment.

Right now, its Friday morning and i….  i decided to force myself write so that this page would not go not updated again for another day. These updates are written at breakneck pace… within 40 minutes i guess. I am rushing for breakfast…. so forgive the errors, i will correct them as soon as i can. As i am completing my final lines i cannot help but get reminded of an old joke.

The joke goes…. an old minister was asked when would he choose to hold the elections, he replied just ‘just before bleakfast”. 🙂 🙂 🙂

September 18, 2009 - Posted by | Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

