Chia Ti Lik’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Condolences to the Family of Lawyer Lo Hwei Yen and the Puhaindran Family

Two days back when i heard of the terrorist strikes in Mumbai, i thought to myself “this madness has begun again” but “luckily it did not happen here since we are also surrounded by coastline”.

I had an acquaintance in Mumbai, as he was a local there, i did not think that he would be targetted as it was obvious that the attack on Mumbai, targetted because it was a financial centre, the targets of terror would usually be foreigners. I was somewhat convinced that this chaos and madness was an ocean and several thousand miles away.

Yesterday i found out that there was a Singaporean hostage, i prayed for the safety of the fellow Singaporean. When I later found that that she was a fellow lawyer, I cannot deny that i was even more concerned. i could not help but sympathize that the world has become so unsafe for globetrotting professionals who are merely trying to make the best out of their lives be threatened with danger by extremist elements whom obviously have no stake in the well-being and success of Mumbai and the world – how else would one resort to such suicidal acts of harm?

Last night when i heard the news, that this fellow lawyer had died as a hostage, I was extremely saddened by the death of a fellow countryman.

When the Straits Times rolled out this morning, i was greeted with another shock. I saw that the family name of the lawyer’s husband was Puhaindran. I feared for the worst that it was the family that my parents knew.

I knew that both my parents knew the Puhaindrans from a long time back. I also remembered when i was in law school my mum did ask me several times whether i knew one of my seniors by the name of Michael Puhaindran whose mother was acquainted with mine and who were staying on the same street. I did not. I did not care much then, since the workload in law school was already more than i could handle.

When my parents read the papers, i confirmed that indeed it was the same family.

I have never met Mr. Michael Puhaindran, but I knew that the Puhaindrans and us once stayed on the same street. There were a couple more NUS law grads staying around here. Though the Puhaindrans have since moved away, their acqauintance with my parents and brought the tragedy so close to home.

I see the from the fact that the Puhaindran family is closely connected with the ruling party and Mr. Puhaindran Senior is Goh Chok Tong’s grassroots member. I stand strictly on the other side of politics but i cannot help by offer my sincerest condolences to the Lo family and the Puhaindran family for what could have been a successful and fulfilling life to be lost so early.

I have often surmised and rationalised my own personal tribulations and losses. I cannot help but acknowledge that my tribulations pale in comparison to that of the grieving families.

I hereby offer my sincerest condolences to the Puhaindran and Lo families: My prayers are for your grief to be assuaged by God in due time and that may not this loss stop you from living life in fear but instead that you will go forward to live it even more fully.

Just when i was complaining of a burdensome workload in the light of so many actions and my recently ill health. This is a little reminder to me of how much more fortunate i am.

This fragility of life is something all of us have to bear in mind. To remember not to waste time, to care for the things that matter, to do what is right, to take time to smell the flowers, to pursue your happiness, and to live life to the fullest.

You won’t know when the Lord decides to call for you.

November 29, 2008 - Posted by | Life

5 Comments »

  1. […] – WS – Wayangparty Club: A moving pictorial tribute to Ms Lo Hoei Yen – Chia Ti Lik’s Blog: Condolences to the Family of Lawyer Lo Hwei Yen and the Puhaindran Family – SgPolitics.net: Sign Lo Hwei Yen’s orbituary at orbituaries.com.sg – The Lycan Times […]

    Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 1 Dec 2008 | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. It is indeed saddening, to read, watch and hear about how an innocent life, full of zest and with a bright future ahead, has left us just like that. It is absolutely unfair.

    By the way, this is Wanying from SR TKD. I don’t know if you still remember me, but you coached me in 2005.

    I hope you’ve been fine!

    Comment by lovelynns | December 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] – WS – Wayangparty Club: A moving pictorial tribute to Ms Lo Hoei Yen – Chia Ti Lik’s Blog: Condolences to the Family of Lawyer Lo Hwei Yen and the Puhaindran Family – SgPolitics.net: Sign Lo Hwei Yen’s orbituary at orbituaries.com.sg – The Lycan Times […]

    Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 49 | December 6, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey Hey

    Of course i remember you 🙂 how have you been?

    Ti Lik

    Comment by chiatilik | December 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’ve been good! I’m currently in my 2nd year in NUS. Having a semester break now 🙂

    Time flies isn’t it!? How have you been?

    Comment by lovelynns | December 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

